Employment And Labour Minister Inaugurates YEA Board

Spread the love

The Minister for Labour and Employment, Mr. Ignatius Baffour Awuah has inaugurated the governing board of the Youth Employment Agency (YEA) in Accra on Wednesday 13th October, 2021.

The Minister admonished the newly Inaugurated Board Members of the Youth Empowerment Agency (YEA) to reduce unemployment to the nearest minimum in the country.

He revealed that unemployment rate and youth unemployment rate in the country stand at 4.3% and 12% respectively adding there was the urgent need for the Board to work assiduously in order to reduce the rate.

The Minister gave the advice in Accra when he inaugurated the Nine (9) Member YEA Board.

“We’ve experienced a very low unemployment rate over the 5 years. You have to sustain or reduce it, if it goes up then you have failed. You have to get that clearly”, Mr. Baffour-Awuah emphasized.

The Minister however stressed that he is convinced the Board Members have the capacity and competency to discharge the responsibilities assigned them as Board Members.

Mr. Baffour Awuah also tasked the Board Members to read and acquaint themselves with the Law and recommend changes if the need be.

“If for any reason you think that you may have to do amendment of the Law because you’ve practiced it over time and you may have seen that there are other areas you can improve or perhaps there are certain areas that you may have to take off from the Act you can advise the Ministry and we would send it to the Ministry and Cabinet”, the Minister added.

The Minister later tasked the leadership of the YEA to make good use of the job creation mobile App it initiated few months ago in order to help create more jobs for the youth.

Dr. Eric Yeboah who accepted the responsibilities on behalf of his colleague Board members expressed their commitment to put in their best in order to achieve the purpose for which they were Inaugurated.

The Board has Mrs. Henrietta Kissi Boateng as the Chair and CEO of YEA, Mr. Justin Kodua, Deputy Minister for Labour and Employment Mr. Bright Wireko -Brobby and Hon. Vincent Ekow Assifuah as members.

The rest are CEO of NYA Pius Enam Hadzide, Dr. Eric Amoah, Chief Labour Officer, Mr. Eugene Narh Klottey, Mr.Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah and Lawrencia Ahemaa Adams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *